Our Mission

BCRC’s mission is to empower those affected by breast cancer with personalized support and compassion.

BCRC’s vision is a future where no one faces breast cancer alone.

The Breast Cancer Resource Center (BCRC) is a is a non-profit organization under section 501(c)(3) of the United States Internal Revenue Code. All donations to the Breast Cancer Resource Center are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by federal law. BCRC's tax identification number is 74-2743333.


History of BCRC

Twenty years ago, a woman with breast cancer had very little help available to her in Central Texas. There was no one to help her cope with the fact she had cancer. No one to provide proof she too could get through the experience.

From within this reality, two women in the midst of treatment formed a bond through their shared experience. Their names were Ann and Sherry. Soon it became undeniable - having the support of someone who understood what they were going though was huge.

In 1995, these women teamed up with several others (two nurses and a social worker among them) and founded the Breast Cancer Resource Center.

They had a helpline and a support group. They formed a “database” of survivors who could provide encouragement to other women.

Training was simple and focused on how to be a good listener, how to provide understanding, and how to communicate hope.

In the years since, BCRC has become much more than a volunteer helpline.

Today, in addition to being survivors, BCRC staff are trained professionals and experts in where to go, what to do next, and how to keep moving forward.

Through it all, our goal has remained the same - help women with breast cancer chart a course and find their way forward - in the way that’s right for them.

I took my volunteer calls very seriously. I would go into my room, shut the door, and take several deep breaths before I dialed the number. I wanted very badly to be my ‘best self’ for the woman on the other end of that phone because I knew one thing for sure: the woman I was about to call was in crisis.
- Ray Anne Evans
Executive Director, former volunteer, and 18-year Survivor

Demetria George Caston

Interim Executive Director/Chief Development Officer

dcaston@bcrc.org

Runi Limary-Meosky

Director of Operations

rlimary@bcrc.org

Melissa Ruiz

Patient Navigator

mruiz@bcrc.org

Elaine Gonzales

Community Educator

egonzales@bcrc.org

Jessica Jones

Bilingual Senior Certified Patient Navigator

jjones@bcrc.org

Mary Ellen Rogers

Patient Navigator

MRogers@bcrc.org

Evette Rose-Harvin

Patient Navigator

erose-harvin@bcrc.org

Arlene Joye

Database Specialist

ajoye@bcrc.org

Laura Reutter

Patient Navigator

lreutter@bcrc.org

Mariana Garza

Program Specialist

mgamoros@bcrc.org

Sharyn Malatok

Chief Program Officer

smalatok@bcrc.org

Molly McAdam

Grant Coordinator

mmagri@bcrc.org

Celina K. Maggi

Assistant Director of Development and Special Events

cmaggi@bcrc.org

Phyllis Rose

Community Engagement Manager

prose@bcrc.org

The best thing about Marj is she made it feel ok to ask any silly, stupid, or important question I had no matter what time of day it was. I don't know what I would have done without her or the Breast Cancer Resource Center
- Tanya
BCRC client

Board of Directors

Tammy Benter | Board Chair

Director, Utility Outreach Division, Public Utility Commission of Texas

Susannah Stinson

Partner Family Law Attorney, Bollier Ciccone, LLP

Norma Jean Chapa | Secretary

Senior Technical Recruiter, Infinity Ward

A. Elizabeth Colvin

Executive Director RAISE Texas

Lotus Douglas | Treasurer

Program Director, Customer and Partner Engagement, IBM Corporation

Maria Garrett

Principal & Founder, MG Leadership, LLC | Coaching & Consulting

Jamie McLeroy

Attorney

Kent Macaulay, DDS | Board Chair

Private Practice

Kelly Martinez, M.D.

Breast Surgeon, Baylor Scott & White

Gail E. Papermaster

Attorney & Counselor at Law, Striata Group Consulting & Grable Martin Fulton, PLLC

Alison Raffalovich

Vice President, Global Communications Strategy, DemandTec by Acoustic

Debi Brannan | Parliamentarian

Chief Business Development Officer, ARA Diagnostic Imaging

Kenya Johnson

Special Projects Manager, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Christine Fisher, MD

Austin Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery


Helpline/ Linea de ayuda 512-524-2560