Our Mission

The Breast Cancer Resource Center is a place to ask your questions, explore your options, and connect with a diverse community of survivors, lifers, and thrivers who can relate in a way no one else can. For more than 20 years, the women of BCRC have been dedicated to supporting and improving the lives of those touched by breast cancer.

Through generous community support, all programs and services are offered free of charge to anyone affected by breast cancer regardless of income, ethnicity, education, sexual orientation, or social support. BCRC strives to embody understanding, preserve dignity, and always see the woman as well as the disease. We believe no one should face breast cancer alone.

The Breast Cancer Resource Center (BCRC) is a is a non-profit organization under section 501(c)(3) of the United States Internal Revenue Code. All donations to the Breast Cancer Resource Center are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by federal law. BCRC's tax identification number is 74-2743333.


History of BCRC

Twenty years ago, a woman with breast cancer had very little help available to her in Central Texas. There was no one to help her cope with the fact she had cancer. No one to provide proof she too could get through the experience.

From within this reality, two women in the midst of treatment formed a bond through their shared experience. Their names were Ann and Sherry. Soon it became undeniable - having the support of someone who understood what they were going though was huge. 

In 1995, these women teamed up with several others (two nurses and a social worker among them) and founded the Breast Cancer Resource Center.

They had a helpline and a support group. They formed a “database” of survivors who could provide encouragement to other women.

Training was simple and focused on how to be a good listener, how to provide understanding, and how to communicate hope.

In the years since, BCRC has become much more than a volunteer helpline.

Today, in addition to being survivors, BCRC staff are trained professionals and experts in where to go, what to do next, and how to keep moving forward.

Through it all, our goal has remained the same - help women with breast cancer chart a course and find their way forward - in the way that’s right for them.

I took my volunteer calls very seriously. I would go into my room, shut the door, and take several deep breaths before I dialed the number. I wanted very badly to be my ‘best self’ for the woman on the other end of that phone because I knew one thing for sure: the woman I was about to call was in crisis.
- Ray Anne Evans
Executive Director, former volunteer, and 18-year Survivor

Ray Anne Evans

Executive Director

revans@bcrc.org

Robin Leonard

Director of Development

rleonard@bcrc.org

Runi Limary

Director of Programs

rlimary@bcrc.org

Phyllis Rose

Director of Community Partnerships

prose@bcrc.org

Karyn Couvillion

Patient Navigator/Young Survivor Services

kcouvillion@bcrc.org

Marjorie Gallece

Senior Certified Patient Navigator

mgallece@bcrc.org

Elaine Gonzales

Bilingual Certified Patient Navigator

egonzales@bcrc.org

Kate Guhin

Development Manager

kguhin@bcrc.org

Nik Ireland

Development Associate

nireland@bcrc.org

Jessica Jones

Bilingual Senior Certified Patient Navigator

jjones@bcrc.org

Katherine Knighten

Support Specialist

support@bcrc.org

Alta Kokochak

Accountant

akokochak@bcrc.org

Dianna Petrick

Senior Certified Patient Navigator

dpetrick@bcrc.org

Melissa Ruiz

Patient Navigator

mruiz@bcrc.org

Angelica Wikswo

Education Specialist

awikswo@bcrc.org

The best thing about Marj is she made it feel ok to ask any silly, stupid, or important question I had no matter what time of day it was. I don't know what I would have done without her or the Breast Cancer Resource Center
- Tanya
BCRC client

Board of Directors

Amanda Adams

Director of Facilities Operations and Patron Services, ZACH Theatre

Debi Brannan | President

Chief Business Development Officer, Austin Radiological Association

Jane Chawla, M.D.

Medical Oncologist, Texas Oncology

Esther Chung

Associate Chief Operating Officer, St. David's Medical Center

A. Elizabeth Colvin

Insure Central Texas Director, Foundation Communities

Joe Curry

Business Development, Spredfast

Paiman Ghafoori, M.D.

Radiation Oncologist, Austin Cancer Centers

Elisabeth King

Nurse Practitioner, Texas Oncology

Joe Langford, CPA | Treasurer

Owner, Carpenter & Langford, P.C.

Joanna Linden

Executive Director, Austin Clubhouse

Kent Macaulay, DDS | Secretary

Private Practice

Kelly Martinez, M.D.

Breast Surgeon, Texas Breast Specialists

Leslie Ockman

Controller, Austin Radiological Association

Gail E. Papermaster

Attorney & Counselor at Law, Private Practice

Alison Raffalovich | President-Elect

Senior Director, Corporate Communications, Revionics, Inc.

Sue Sheppard

Retired Associate Judge, Travis County District Courts

Sue Snyder | Past-President

Partner, Vinson & Elkins, LLP

Our Board is passionate about ensuring no one in Central Texas faces breast cancer alone.

Financial Partners

ABCF
ARA
Statesman
ASPRS
Avon
CBS Austin
Hackers
Komen
LPAF
MammaJamma
Randalls
Scare
St. David's
SXSW
TX ONC
United Way

Community Partners

Adelbert's Brewery
American Cancer Society
Ame's Cleaning
Austin Breast Imaging
CareBox
Community Action
EK Media
Flatwater Foundation
Foundation Communities
Food! Food!
GiftingCare
HAND
Livestrong
Merry Maids
P&H Services
Pink Pilates
Seton Healthcare
Table Rock Produtions
Team Survivor
THAIR for You
The Smile Never Fades
Texas Oncology
Texas Wings
Wonders and Worries

We’d also like to thank all of the Sewing Circles who provide pillows and camisoles to help women during their recovery.

Call Our Helpline at 512-524-2560 | Línea de Ayuda 512-796-5808