Our Mission

The Breast Cancer Resource Center is a place to ask your questions, explore your options, and connect with a diverse community of survivors, lifers, and thrivers who can relate in a way no one else can. For more than 20 years, the women of BCRC have been dedicated to supporting and improving the lives of those touched by breast cancer.

Through generous community support, all programs and services are offered free of charge to anyone affected by breast cancer regardless of income, ethnicity, education, sexual orientation, or social support. BCRC strives to embody understanding, preserve dignity, and always see the woman as well as the disease. We believe no one should face breast cancer alone.


History of BCRC

Twenty years ago, a woman with breast cancer had very little help available to her in Central Texas. There was no one to help her cope with the fact she had cancer. No one to provide proof she too could get through the experience.

From within this reality, two women in the midst of treatment formed a bond through their shared experience. Their names were Ann and Sherry. Soon it became undeniable - having the support of someone who understood what they were going though was huge. 

In 1995, these women teamed up with several others (two nurses and a social worker among them) and founded the Breast Cancer Resource Center.

They had a helpline and a support group. They formed a “database” of survivors who could provide encouragement to other women.

Training was simple and focused on how to be a good listener, how to provide understanding, and how to communicate hope.

In the years since, BCRC has become much more than a volunteer helpline.

Today, in addition to being survivors, BCRC staff are trained professionals and experts in where to go, what to do next, and how to keep moving forward.

Through it all, our goal has remained the same - help women with breast cancer chart a course and find their way forward - in the way that’s right for them.

I took my volunteer calls very seriously. I would go into my room, shut the door, and take several deep breaths before I dialed the number. I wanted very badly to be my ‘best self’ for the woman on the other end of that phone because I knew one thing for sure: the woman I was about to call was in crisis.
- Ray Anne Evans
Executive Director, former volunteer, and 18-year Survivor

Ray Anne Evans

Executive Director

revans@bcrc.org

Robin Leonard

Director of Development

rleonard@bcrc.org

Runi Limary

Director of Programs

rlimary@bcrc.org

Phyllis Rose

Director of Volunteer Services

prose@bcrc.org

Karyn Couvillion

Patient Navigator/Young Survivor Services

kcouvillion@bcrc.org

Marjorie Gallece

Senior Certified Patient Navigator

mgallece@bcrc.org

Elaine Gonzales

Bilingual Certified Patient Navigator

egonzales@bcrc.org

Jessica Jones

Bilingual Senior Certified Patient Navigator

jjones@bcrc.org

Katherine Knighten

Support Specialist

support@bcrc.org

Alta Kokochak

Accountant

akokochak@bcrc.org

Dianna Petrick

Senior Certified Patient Navigator

dpetrick@bcrc.org

Kate Guhin

Development Specialist

kguhin@bcrc.org

Melissa Ruiz

Patient Navigator

mruiz@bcrc.org

Angelica Wikswo

Education Specialist

awikswo@bcrc.org

The best thing about Marj is she made it feel ok to ask any silly, stupid, or important question I had no matter what time of day it was. I don't know what I would have done without her or the Breast Cancer Resource Center
- Tanya
BCRC client

Board of Directors

Sue Snyder | President

Partner, Vinson & Elkins, LLP

Paula Harmon | Treasurer

Controller and Director of Administration, Insurance Council of Texas

Amanda Adams

Director of Facilities Operations and Patron Services, ZACH Theatre

Esther Chung

Associate Chief Operating Officer, St. David's Medical Center

Paiman Ghafoori, M.D.

Radiation Oncologist, Austin Cancer Centers

Kent Macaulay, DDS

Private Practice

Gail Papermaster

Attorney & Counselor at Law

Alison Raffolovich

Senior Director, Corporate Communications, Revionics, Inc.

Debi Brannan | Chief Business Development Officer

Director of Business Development, Austin Radiological Association

Joe Langford, CPA | Secretary

Owner, Carpenter & Langford, P.C.

Donna Di Carlo

Software Developer, Texas Wormhole

A. Elizabeth Colvin

Insure Central Texas Director, Foundation Communities

Kelly Martinez, M.D.

Breast Surgeon, Texas Breast Specialists

Lisa Perry

Marketing, Dell Inc.

Sue Sheppard

Retired Associate Judge, Travis County District Courts

Our Board is passionate about ensuring no one in Central Texas faces breast cancer alone.

Financial Partners

ABCF NEW LOGO
web-hackers-logo-b
RGK-foundation
stdavids2
texas-oncology
austin-american-statesman
acosta
scare
Komen Austin
stars
avon-foundation-for-women
randalls
shivers-cancer-foundation
mammajamma
unitedway5

Community Partners

american-cancer-society
food-food-austin
livestrong
Community Action
gifting-care
smile-never-fades
wondersworries
flatwater-foundation
HAND
wings-sa

We’d also like to thank all of the Sewing Circles who provide pillows and camisoles to help women during their recovery.

Call Our Helpline at 512-524-2560 | Línea de Ayuda 512-796-5808